Baden-Baden ???Wirstenburg???, Germany

I noticed that the Petry website had “Wirstenburg“, Germany listed as George Petry‘s (my gggg grandfather’s) place of birth.

I had never heard of this place before so I did a few searches…

Turns out that there is no such place (family researchers are only human, so it really doesn’t surprise or bother me much when I find errors; comes with the territory).

I have found two possible alternatives, however.

Wittenberg

wittenberg-msn-zoom7-200h.gif

(map borrowed from this website)

OR

Wurttemberg

baden-wurttemberg.gif

Map of Baden Wurttemberg – Visit us for more German Maps

The more logical choice would seem to be Wurttemberg, though IMO.

What do y’all think?

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Gale Petry said,

    I grew up in Germany and also speak fluent German.
    I believe that George Petry was from the town Baden Baden which is located in the state of Baden Wuerttemberg, right by the Black Forest.

  2. 2

    Liz Petry said,

    Based on the information I’ve found the George Petry from Germany is my great-grandfather. I know that sounds preposterous, but my grandfather was born in 1858; my father (also George Petry) in 1907. He was was 42 when I was born. According to my dad, we had family from Alsace-Lorraine. He didn’t say who, or exactly where, but Baden Baden is much closer to the border as it exists today.
    Hope this helps.

    • 3

      Debbie said,

      My great grandfather was Jacob Petry. I know he emigrated from Germany in 1895 and settled in Pittsburgh, PA where he practiced dentistry. He returned to Germany (Wallhausen) in 1913, which must’ve been when his father (Michol sp?) died. My grandmother, Elizabeth Petry Moore, said he was a surgeon, and from the sound of it was like the surgeon general. We always thought they were from the Alsace Lorraine region because she said Petry was French.
      Does any of this sound familiar?
      Deborah Moore Lesslie

  3. 4

    Andre Rock said,

    Very gut Baden – Baden Germany i Baden of Austria god Andre Poland

  4. 5

    Hank said,

    My gggrandfather was Georg Peter Petri(y) b 14 Nov 1811 somewhere in Germany. Always thought he was from Alsace area but have never ascertained. Lived in Millstadt IL until death 20 Oct 1875.

  5. 6

    Debbie said,

    Hank, I wish you knew more about your gggrandfather’s family. I have been able to learn quite a bit about the Leisters from Dalberg, but the Perty( I have thought it was Petri) family is still a mystery.

  6. 7

    Anne M. Brown said,

    Any info re: Walter family (Adolph B.D. 1838 in Baden) emigrated to US (?date); naturalized in N.J. in 1856.

  7. 8

    What is the best seo software for post backlinks?…

    For the best seo software try lucidbb…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

